Let's talk about it/Keeping It 💯

BEING ASTHMATIC

Hello readers. It’s been a while. I’m sorry for not being consistent but I’m working on it.

So last week, I witnessed two different scenarios and one of it has propelled me to write this article on Asthma/Being Asthmatic and it also brought back a memory I’d like to share.

So the story goes thus;

When I was in Part 1, I had an experience that could have been fatal but was not, thank God. My departmental excos organized a freshers’ party for the newly admitted students which I was one of them; so, I got dressed that night and on a second thought, I decided to cook something before leaving for the programme. So, I took my stove outside of the room. I put on the stove with the pot on it, I poured in the palm oil (don’t forget I was cooking outside the room – like the balcony of our room in Mozambique Hall) then before I knew it, one of my roommates who was asleep before I started cooking began to gasp for breath.

Within a short while, it had become serious. She was getting stiff and we couldn’t carry her. And yes, I had put off the stove the moment the gasping started and the pot of hot oil far away from the stove.

Then myself and some of my roommates ran to the Porters Lodge to get help and hmmmm, let’s not talk about that one. Fortunately for me, three of my big brothers from home who had been a student before me came in at the time to say hello and yes, they were the ones who rescued us that night. The three of them carried her and off they were at the School Health Centre.

I don’t need to tell you that I never attended the party that night and my vegetable soup was only a figment of my imagination for that night and oh! I also got a teasing name from my roommates that night *hehehehehe* you’d need to know them before you can get that name.

She actually got help in time. She was given a new inhaler and trust me, when she got back to the room the next day, the roommates were all mad at her. She should have said a word about the ailment. If it wasn’t me, it could have been anyone. What if we were too late that night? What if the unexpected happens? The world is a wicked place, they could have said I did it intentionally or better still, I automatically have a dead person on my neck and maybe if she wasn’t asleep, she would have excused herself and all. But we (my roommates and I) remembered she always said something about take it easy with the sweeping, take it easy with these and that’s’ but that wasn’t enough for us to deduce that she had an ailment.

My friend is still very much alive till today and I wish her long beautiful years ahead. . . We bonded after the incident and we became really great friends afterwards.

This post is a deep awareness for Asthma, an enlightenment for the populace and a sort of advice for people living with the ailment.

Asthma is a respiratory condition marked by attacks of spasm in the bronchi of the lungs which causes difficulty in breathing and there is no cure for this ailment but it is very manageable. The symptoms include;

Coughing that won’t stop
Shortness of breath
Tightness in the chest etc.

It could be triggered by air pollution, exercise, pets, very dry weather and it could be hereditary.

This post is not to replace medical readings we could do ourselves but let me just say that what happened last week was a case of a boy whose asthma got triggered by the weather having knelt down inside the sun at school for long hours and the part that is scary is that, he doesn’t know what he has neither does his parents.

Let me just conclude this post by saying, asthma could be a terminal disease if it is handled that way.

For someone living with asthma, I would say it is not a shameful thing. It is not something you should be ashamed of or try to hide. When you stay amidst people, let them know what is wrong with you, don’t try to code it. Be blunt about it and by that you can save them from an experience as mine and you can save yourself too from the aftermaths of such triggers. Also, don’t wait till you run out of the present inhaler before you get another.

For the public, let us be nice to people going through one ailments or the other. Don’t let us make a joke out of their triggers. Don’t let us play pranks with what we know could trigger the asthmatic display. Let us be supportive and helpful. Let us learn about how we can help whenever we find someone in such situation.

For parents, be conscious of your child/children’s health. If you don’t know what they have, go with the symptoms; explain to someone who is definitely a doctor or a learned person who will help in telling you what could be happening.

On a final note, I would like to say that if as an asthmatic patient you don’t want to tell others about it, kindly do well to excuse yourself from anything or any environment that could act as a trigger but I still insist that it is better to tell cos you can’t always look out for yourself all the time – we forget ourselves once in a while as human beings and don’t stop believing God for healing.

Nothing is impossible for Him to do!

Stay alive!

4 thoughts on “BEING ASTHMATIC”

Leave a Reply

