Memoirs of A Repentant Hooker – Episode 17

The drive to Chief and Mrs. Jones’ house was a silent one. Jide and I never uttered a word to each other unlike our usual routine of jitterings and glances whenever we are on the road. The situation was unexpectedly awkward. Jide and I never had a slight disagreement as this but I guess it was a signal that we are in a relationship and situations as this happens.

It was almost an hour drive plus the traffic jam from my place to Jide’s parents’ house. I’m sure Jide’s pressing of the horn literally sent the gateman jittering with the manner with which he opened the gate and at the same time he was screaming ‘welcome sir’ in Yoruba without a pause.

I couldn’t get down from the car. I had a rush of flashbacks from my first time meeting the Jones. The gateman’s screams that were initially becoming annoying was overshadowed by my thoughts. I found myself looking through the window of the house from where I was seated and I could see someone; it felt as if she was looking at me. . . Now I didn’t want to get down from the car; not ever!

Jide’s Yoruba sprung me back to the moment. He was telling the gateman who was roughly in his late fourties in Yoruba to stop putting ‘sir’ when greeting him again and that he should be the one to do the greeting first and not the other way round.

I love Jide’s humility but not as much as I love the accent that comes with his Yoruba pronunciation. It’s the sexy kind of accent every woman would want to wake up to in the morning.

‘Do I have to drag you down?’

I didn’t even have an idea that he was already at my side of the car. I couldn’t smile, I couldn’t laugh. I was just staring at him but I knew I couldn’t hold Jide down for so long. I have to muster the courage to talk.
‘I don’t want to get down from the car. . . Can’t we just go back?’ I asked with so much plea in my eyes.

Then he opened the side door.

‘We can’t go back cos we are already here!’ he replied looking into my eyes.
‘But no one really knows I’m here except for this elderly man and he’s not going to tell that I was here and if he does, you can come up with some sort of explanation to your mum and all. . . Please!’

‘Seriously? Explanations like what?’

‘You can come up with something na. We don’t have to discuss that now. . . Like I had a flu, running stomach or something.’

‘Jesus! Babe, who are you!’

‘What now? Stop screaming jare.’

‘No worry sef, my mum has drugs for all these ailments you are coming up with. Maybe you should come up with something better.’

‘What’s your point now?’ I asked feeling frustrated.

‘The point is, there’s no turning back. We are here already and just be positive. This is never going to be like the last time and if it is going to be. . .’

I didn’t even allow him to finish that sentence before I cut in.

‘If it is going to be. . .’ I asked with a very stern look on my face.

‘All I’m saying is, you are stronger than what you are scared of. So, brace up and expect the good and not the bad and stop being paranoid. . . Will you get down now or you need me to carry you?’

‘Carry me!’ I said with a smile and ecstasy in my voice.
Jide literally brightens my world. There is a way he speaks that changes everything. . . So, Jide carried me from the car to their doorstep to the amusement of the gateman who was smiling coyishly at the sight of young love.

He kept on looking at me with one of his hands in mine.

‘What?’ I couldn’t help but ask.

‘Won’t you press the bell?’

‘What does it matter who presses it?’ I asked feeling lost.

‘It does. . . It will help boost your self-esteem and courage level.’

‘Really! You are unpredictable Jide, I tell you.’

‘Sha press the bell.’

With my eyes closed, I could feel a bang in my chest while I try to press the door bell with Jide whispering it’s fine like someone who is trying to make a young child overcome his fears.

‘Just in time for lunch!’

I opened my eyes to the glaring face of Mrs. Jones staring into mine. I was lost for words. Her voice was as stern as Jide’s. I guess that’s where he got it from.

‘Yes ma’am.’ I replied not knowing what to say.

‘You are doing just good baby!’ Jide whispered into my ears with his hands on my waist as we followed his mum’s leading into the living room.

The shortness of my visit last time to the Jones didn’t allow me to notice the magnificence and beauty of the Jones’ home. It was an exquisite décor from the outside of the house to the inner. The house had two living rooms; the first one was very cool and not too large and the second was amazingly cool and awesomely large. I guess that’s where they enjoy the family moments.

We walked past the first living room into the second living room. Mrs. Jones definitely has good taste. She was dressed in an Adire-made jumpsuit. She’s a beautiful woman with an amazing shape at her age. She should be in her early 60s though; I’m not sure. She plaited her hair in the all back style. She has a warm smile that calms me each time I try to show the apprehension gripping my heart.

The house was full like the first day except for the absence of Chief Jide Jones (Snr.) and Jide’s elder sister’s husband. Jide’s sister, Aunty Kayinsola; was breastfeeding her baby. She greeted me with a warm smile. Jide’s two other siblings responded to my greetings with a nod of the head and a wave of the hand. I tried not to read meanings into it.

‘Make yourself comfortable my dear.’ Mrs. Jones said.

‘Thank you ma.’ I responded.

‘Sade, come and help me set the table for lunch.’ Mrs. Jones said beckoning to Sade who was the last child of the family.

‘I can help ma.’ I said with so much enthusiasm. I was beginning to feel jittery and I needed to do something to distract myself from the feeling.

‘Alright then.’

I followed Mrs. Jones into the dinning section to set the table. The aroma from the meal alone is enough for me to conclude she’s an amazing cook. I became hungry immediately. My love for fried rice and grilled chicken cannot be hid.

Mrs. Jones hit a small bell with an iron rod to announce to the rest of the family that the table set. . . It looks like a typical American family to me. I guess I have only seen stuffs like that in American movies.

I felt like knowing Mrs. Jones better with that single act of hers.

The chairs were filled. Jide and I were sitting beside each other followed by his elder sister, his younger brother, his younger sister, Sade who was sitting directly opposite to me. I couldn’t count how many times I’ve caught her eyes staring into mine ever since we arrived. Mrs. Jide Jones was sitting at the edge and there was a vacant seat left which automatically belongs to Chief Jide Jones.

A little prayer was said by Aunty Kayinsola. Everyone served themselves after except for Jide who opted to serve me. It was as if he knew what was going on in my mind. I was a little bit shy to serve myself because I’m yet to know my place in the family. Who knows maybe it’s the amount of food I ate that would be the point of discussion after I have left. . . I know it’s demeaning to think of them that way but I can’t help it.

‘So you and Jide met a couple of months back right?’

That was Aunty Kayinsola asking.

‘Yes.’ I replied. . . Do I have a choice?

Gone were the days when people were particular about table manners but now, people tend to enjoy the dinning talks especially me.

‘How was he when you met him? You should be put off a little bit.’ She said looking into my eyes.

‘He was a complete nerd but I couldn’t resist him!’ I said smiling.

I’ve loosened up a bit and the tightness around me was beginning to fade off.

‘He has always been a nerd but he’s evolving. I think we have you to thank for that.’

‘I guess. . .’ Sade responded with a smile and I couldn’t help but think that smile wasn’t real.

‘You know I don’t understand something but I won’t mind if you’d shed some light. . . Do you mind?’ Sade asked with so much smile and friendliness.

‘I don’t mind. . . Anything at all.’

‘Did you ever had sex with my Dad cos I don’t know how y’all could be acting as if it’s not an issue!’

I uncontrollably sprayed the food in my mouth on the table like someone was spraying baygon.

2 thoughts on “Memoirs of A Repentant Hooker – Episode 17

Leave a Reply

