What I listen to

Grateful – Rita Ora!

image

Hello readers. . . Here comes my second post on Music.

Like I said in my first post on this section, my love for music is thicker than blood and I can say authoritatively that most of the songs I listen to are either OSTs(Original Soundtracks’) of movies *American movies definitely* or songs from movies and TV Series.

And yea, I watch Award Nights a lot – Grammy, The Oscars, Emmy, BET, MTV and much more. If I’m not watching it live, I’m making it a point of duty to download or find where to watch it the next day.

So, the first time I was aware of the song ‘Grateful’ at all was when I read the nominee list for The 2015 Oscars Award where it was nominated for the best Original Song from the movie ‘Beyond the Lights’. The song was written by Diane Warren.

Although ‘Glory’ from the movie ‘Selma’ won the award for the category *Glory is another freaking amazing favourite of mine that was more than popular this year written by John Stephens and Lonnie Lynn but was sung by two of my favourite artistes, John Legend and Common* ‘Grateful’ was epic for me but not until Rita Ora was invited on stage to perform the song.

It was epic. . . from the lyrics to the performance. Rita Ora delivered just well and that was my first time of listening to Rita Ora and ever since then, I’ve been stuck on her. She’s wow!

Every song nominated for the category of ‘Best Original Song’ was amazing. From “Everything is Awesome” from the Lego Movie, “I’m Not Gonna Miss You” from Glen Campbell’s. . . I’ll be me *that’s another favourite song which was performed by a male artiste I can’t remember during the award night* and “Lost Stars” from Begin Again and the aforementioned ones!

So after I had watched the Oscars Award, trust me, I made sure I laid my hands on the movie of interests in the Award from American Sniper to The Grand Budapest Hotel to Birdman, Whiplash, The Theory of Everything and even the movie that brought about this particular song of interest, ‘Beyond the Lights.’

I never regretted watching any of those movies except Selma that I’m yet to see *anyone who knows where I can lay my hands on it should biko tell me o! I’m rooting for that movie siinnnnnce!* and in case you don’t know, ‘The Grand Budapest Hotel’ had the highest awards of the night and the movie was indeed bomb! Oh! And that guy that won ‘Actor in a Supporting Role’, J. K. Simmons for ‘Whiplash’, he is too awesome! I love him in that movie; lemme say, he made me wanna watch that movie over and over again.

So, here is the lyrics of the song ‘Grateful’. . . One of my best songs for this year and forever. . . The lyrics was all I ever needed at the point when it came to my life. It’s a song that shows appreciation from the depth of pain, been throughs, gone throughs, and survival! . . . It’s an SOP! *winks*

And don’t forget to press the download button below the lyrics if you’re interested in listening to the song!. . . It’s worth your MB!

Lyrics
There were a lot of tears I had to cry through
A lot of battles left me battered and bruised
Now I was shattered, had my heart ripped in two
I was broken, I was broken,
There were a lot of times I stumbled and crushed
When I was only years down to my last chance
So many times when I was so convinced that
I was over, I was over,
But I had to fall yeah
To rise above it all
I’m grateful for the storm
Made me appreciate the sun
I’m grateful for the wrong ones
Made me appreciate the right ones
I’m grateful for the pain
For everything that made me break
I’m thankful for all my scars
‘Cause they only make my heart
Grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful, grateful
Grateful.

I was sinking, I was drowning in doubt
The weight of all of the pain was weighing me down
Pulled it together and I pulled myself out
Learned a lesson, learned a lesson
That there’s a lot you gotta go through,
Hell yes
But that’s what got me strong, I got no regrets
And I’ve got only love, got no bitterness
Count my blessings, count my blessings, yeah
I’m proud of every tear, yeah
‘Cause they got me here.
I’m grateful for the storm. . .

There is nothing I would change
That even one mistake I made
I got lost, found myself, found my way
I’m grateful for the storm. . .

You know that I’m grateful
You know that I care
No time for the wrong ones
I’ll always be there
Grateful
Woah (grateful, grateful, grateful)
I’m grateful, oh yeah (grateful, grateful)
Oh, I’m grateful, yeah.

Lyrics by me!

Download

2 thoughts on “Grateful – Rita Ora!”

Leave a Reply

