Memoirs of A Repentant Hooker – Episode 18

Turning my mouth into a sprayer wasn’t enough scattering of the peaceful gathering; my wild appetite for the meal became cold. I couldn’t stare into anyone’s eyes in particular. I was just gazing at emptiness but I could feel Jide’s hand in mine.

Mrs. Jones’ voice broke the silence and then it dawned on me that everyone had already dropped their cutleries except for Sade who was biting hard into the chicken laps not really giving a damn about the obvious silence that resulted from her question.

‘Will you drop that chicken or I’d be forced to drop it for you!’ Mrs. Jones said on top of her voice looking at Sade with the kind of eyes that could make someone tremble.

‘Mum, what is it this time? I only asked a question. . . Is that too much to ask? It’s okay that you all are being okay with this, with her, with whatever my brother thinks he is doing choosing to ignore Dad to pay attention to some s.s.lut!’

‘Afolasade Jones! Are you out of your mind? What has come over you?’ Mrs. Jones rose from her seat with so much anger in her eyes.

‘Mum, nothing has come over me! I’m not just convenient sitting at this table pretending as if we are all one big happy family with a latest soon-to-be addition whose integrity we really need to question. . . I think I should be the one to say what is wrong with y’all! Something is wrong with this family.’

‘Something has always been wrong with this family right from start so. . .’ Jide responded with so much disgust, I guess he couldn’t take it anymore while I just sat there not knowing what to do or how to stop the ensuing banter of words.

‘If you knew that you wouldn’t be convenient sitting at this table, why bother to sit at all? It wasn’t forced or was it. . . You can still leave Sade!’ Jide said.

‘Seriously! You’d ditch your family over this thing? Your own family Jide?’

‘Why am I so surprised? Should I really be? You don’t seem to respect me cos it seems like we are age mates now!’ Jide fired back.

‘Are you kidding me? You want to make this situation about not adding brother in front of your name? You’ve always been convenient with that. Haba! It’s old-fashioned. . . How many families call themselves brother, sisters now? Respect is not in appellations. . . You know I respect you, you know I love you and that’s why I don’t want you to make a mistake this terrible. . . Can’t you see or has she fed you with something that’s making you turn your backs on your family now?’

‘I’m not turning my back on anyone, you are the one who is being unnecessarily disrespectful to her! Jeez! Sade! When did you become this?’

‘Become what?. . . Seriously, Sister Kayinsola, you just gonna sit there and not talk some sense into your baby brother?’

‘Oh! You can call her sister?’

‘Stop being petty Jide! I’ve always called her sister and you know that. . .’

‘Enough!’ Mrs. Jones said with a loud bang on the table that sent the eating plates hitting each other with a loud noise.

Her action sent us back to the previous situation of ultimate silence. . . Aunty Kayinsola seemed to be the extremely cool one of the family. While the show was going on, she maintained her peace; she was just breastfeeding her baby while she gazed at everyone. . . I think I should go.
Rising from my seat with my bag in hand, I let go of Jide’s hand.

‘I’m sorry that my presence has done nothing more than disrupt the peace of this family. . . I wish it hadn’t happened and it was never my intention to split your family. . . I should go now.’ I made that long speech looking staring into oblivion and avoiding faces.

I took a step to leave!

‘If you leave, don’t ever pick up your phone to call me. . . It’s over between us!’

‘What?’ I couldn’t hide my surprise. . . Jide was literally breaking up with me in front of his family.

‘Are you breaking up with me?’

‘Only if you leave!’

‘What do you expect me to do?’ I was beginning to feel lost in a tangle.

‘I expect you to sit, be calm and only leave if my mum asks us to.’

‘Really! Do you even understand what it is to be me? Sitting here and being the cause of discord between people? I understand the repercussions of leaving but I’d take my chances.”

‘Enough!’

I guess Aunty Kayinsola couldn’t take it anymore this time.

‘I have somewhere I’d rather be!’ Sade responded.

‘Young lady, sit your ass down! For a minute I thought you are educated and then you started talking about feeding him with something. . . Girl, what is going on with you!’

‘Now, you want to interfere! A few minutes ago you seem to be enjoying the little soap opera sister!’

‘You know I don’t like to trade words young girl. . . Mum, and I would excuse you two; unless you apologize to your brother and to his girlfriend, you are not gonna leave here anytime soon. . . You can call us when you are through!”

‘What about me?’ I thought!

5 thoughts on “Memoirs of A Repentant Hooker – Episode 18

Leave a Reply

