Memoirs of A Repentant Hooker ~ Episode 19

While I helped Mrs. Jones clear the table of left-over and hardly-touched meals, I watched Jide and Sade sorting their issues out at the other side of the living room. Aunty Kayinsola literally continued with breast-feeding her baby while Jide’s baby brother got busy with the television.

I was scared to be alone with Mrs. Jones in the kitchen. Yes, life is absolutely crazy I can tell ‘cos some minutes ago, I wished to be closer to this woman and know her better but not like this.

She gave me a deep stare that says I know so many things are going on in that mind of yours.

“You shouldn’t blame yourself for this evening’s turn-out.” She said.

“Ma?” I asked pretending as if I didn’t hear and would love for her not to say it again though.

“Don’t pretend as if you didn’t hear me young woman! Whatever happened today was not your fault.” She said looking at me with so much calm.

“I know ma.”

“No, you don’t!. . . I know you feel like if you hadn’t been here today, none of this would have happened. . . Yes, maybe if you weren’t here it might not have happened but you’d still have to be here someday so far you intended to be with my son! This argument would have happened, it might just have been postponed. . . So you see, be glad it happened now and not later. . . Do you understand?”

“Okay ma.” I said with a nod.

“Don’t just stand there with those plates, nodding your head like a lizard’s. I don’t know you to be such a super cool person! Be free with me, like I’m your mother, I don’t have fangs so I’m not gonna hurt you.”

“No ma! I didn’t mean it that way ma.” I replied.

“It’s fine. . . Take a seat and come sit beside me.”

I took a small kitchen seat to sit beside Mrs. Jones. I looked at her very keenly like I was just seeing her for the first time. I love the control she has over her family and the strength to keep them all together which is indeed a motherly character. At that moment, I wished to be her; the kind of woman that exerts so much strength and authority. I want to experience the kind of mothering I never had through her.

“I was so much of a flawless woman. . . You don’t have an idea how beautiful and priceless what you had is. . . They’d help shape you to be a better and more useful person. So don’t try to be ashamed of what you were, it helps you be what you are meant to be.”

“Really?” I asked now feeling very comfortable with her.

“Yes, really.”

“So you don’t hate me?”

“I don’t hate you dear. . . After the first time you were here, I knew if my son ever came back here with you, I’m sure he was convinced it’s you. . . See, Jide is a good kid and he has always made the right decisions, so I trust his judgment. He could be very stubborn but he’s a good one and I’m sure he feels lucky to have you too. . . He adores you and never doubt that for a moment.”

“Can I ask something ma?”

“Sure. . . Go ahead! Anything at all.”

“Why is Jide so mad with his dad? He hardly wants to talk about him and I can’t help but feel this has a lot to do with me.”

“Hmmm. . . I wish I could satisfy your curiosity but all I can tell you is that it has nothing to do with you. Just pray for him and ask him.”

“I do ask him but he keeps on avoiding the discussion anytime I tried discussing it.”

“You are a woman my dear. Give it time. He’d tell you. . . Just let it grow, let it evolve.”

I couldn’t believe how much we have said in just a little while until Aunty Kayinsola walked in on us.

“Mum, I have to go.” She said

“Go where? I thought you were gonna stay for dinner.”

“Yes, I thought I would but something came up.”

“Something very serious?”

“I can’t really say but the tone of the message sounded urgent. . . It was from Mrs. Coker. She said she needs to see me and it’s very urgent.”

“Is she alright? Maybe I should give her a call. . . I’ve been worried about her a lot lately.”

“Mum! Let me go see her first and if there’s anything you have to worry about, I’d let you know.”

“Okay!”

I couldn’t keep my calm at the mention of Mrs. Coker. If it was possible, I really wished I could be excused just to follow Aunty Kayinsola to go see her.

“Do you know the Cokers?” I asked without even knowing when it flew from my mouth.

“Yes. Yetunde and I go way back from the University while her husband and my husband are more of political friends.” Mrs. Jones replied.

“Wow! I see. . . I never knew.”

“Now you do!” she replied with a smile.

“You should hurry now. . . Just give me a feedback as soon as you are through with her.”

“I will Mum. . . Take care of you, one of these days we’d catch up” she said looking at me.

“We better go downstairs, Sade and Jide should be through by now. . . And please, do not worry about Sade, she’d come around.”

“Thank you very much ma.” I said.

I couldn’t stomach the warmth and comfort. It was too good to be expected. . .

One thought on “Memoirs of A Repentant Hooker ~ Episode 19

Leave a Reply

