The Slam Book

Memoirs of A Repentant Hooker – Episode 20

The stay at the Jones’ was shortened at the emergence of the real Jide Jones. . . While Chief Jide Jones (Snr.) walked into the living room in his full regalia, everyone greeted him except for Jide who was obviously being eaten up by something inside him and me who has a supposedly weird relationship with my to-be father-in-law. Ever since the first day at the Jones’ house, with Chief Jide Jones making it vehemently clear that he wouldn’t have me as a daughter-in-law, I have decided to step backwards as regards him but I can’t help but be worried for Jide.

I didn’t even have enough time to say goodbye to Jide’s mother properly neither did I have a good shot at sighting Sade before I left all thanks to Jide who had become so uncomfortable on the arrival of his dad.

Looks like you guys have forgotten me at the hospital. . . Anyways, I’m due for discharge.”

I never knew how much a while it has been that I last visited Amaka Coker at the hospital. Getting her message reminded me of how much I had allowed the unforeseen troubles and circumstances to take away my attention from her.

Jide holding tight to the wheels was feeling all kind of moody. I’ve known better than to interrupt him or try to inquire about whatever was making him moody at the time but I guess I could talk to him about Amaka cos obviously, the presence of his dad has sparked his moodiness.

“It’s been a while we visited Amaka you know.” I said trying to start a conversation.

“Yea. I guess.” He replied holding the wheels tightly and avoiding eye contact.

“Jide, do you want to talk to me about what’s going on between you and your dad?” I couldn’t handle his attitude anymore.

“Please not right now!”

“Not right now? Then stop with the mood. . . Say something to me and stop making me feel your attitude towards your dad has everything to do with me cos if it does. . .”

“It doesn’t! Just stop! We’ve talked about this, times without number. It has absolutely nothing to do with you. I love you and I won’t ever lie to you! Trust me on this.”

“Fine! But just try to put up a little smile!”

“Alright. . . How about now?” he asked smiling

“That’s a lot better.”

“So where are we driving off to right now?”

“We should go see Amaka right away! That’s if she’s not already pissed at us sef.”

“She called?”

“No, she sent a text but I can smell trouble from that text.”

“We better hurry then.”

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Clearing my throat has an easy thing to do especially when I witness a mischief or I’m trying to gossip.

“Since when have you two been standing there?”

“Oh no Amaka! Don’t be too smart!” I fired back.

“Since when has this been going on?” Jide asked pointing fingers at both of them.

“Are you guys a thing now?” I fired back adding no chills.

“Okay guys! One after the other. . .”

“Wow! I’m surprised. . . well, hospital affairs between patients and doctors are really not unusual though. . .”

“. . . Especially in Nollywood films” Jide replied with so much smile in his voice.

“Will you guys stop now! You’ve embarrassed us enough.” Amaka said looking sober.

“It’s not what you guys think!” the Doctor said.

“Of course not!” I replied.

“I think it’s better I excuse you guys for now.” The Doctor said.

“Definitely!” I said rolling my eyes.

“Will you stop really! You are embarrassing him and he’s done nothing wrong!. . . It was just a kiss!” Amaka said stressing every word.

“Just a kiss?”

“See ehn! He has done nothing wrong. We’ve been exclusive for a while now and I know it’s awkward you had to meet him or find us in such position to know but he’s not taking advantage of me. We’ve been seeing each other for more than a year now!”

“More than a year? Amaka?”

“Yes! I’m sorry. I know what you are thinking right now.”

“Do you! More than a year and I didn’t know. . . Do I even know you?”

“That is you getting emotional about this. . . Yes, you know me and I’m sorry you had to find out this way but I’ve been planning to tell you. Just waiting for the right moment.”

“Right moment huh?”

“Jide, can you please talk to her for me?” she said facing Jide.

“So, what about Okon?” I fired at her.

“What about him?”

“Amaka!”

“Yes. . . You didn’t even ask about how I might be feeling, my health, necessary papers to sign for discharge and all. . . What is wrong with you?”

“Fine! I’m sorry. . . Can we go sign the necessary papers now and get you out of here?”

“Sure!”
“The house is a little dirty. . .”

“And why is that?”

“Some hoodlums came to ransack the house”

“And when was that?”

“The last time I was here. Jide and I arrived home to find the house burgled and totally ransacked but the crazy part was only your room was totally turned upside down?”

“My room?”

“Yes your room!”

“Can we start going home now and forget about the necessary protocols?”

“Amaka what is going on with you? One minute ago, you wanted me to go sign discharge papers and now! You are in a hurry to go home.”

“Yes! Will you both please take me home?”

“Amaka, is there anything at all that we should know?” Jide asked.

“Nothing!”

“You keep saying nothing and that right there scares me about you! When did you become this all of a sudden?”

“Become what? Are we gonna start fighting because of this?”

“I am not fighting with you. I just feel it’s high time you let me in! Amaka talk to me.”

“Jide, can I have the car keys cos if you guys don’t wanna go home, I can drive myself!” She collected the car keys from Jide, literally walking away without looking back.

“Amaka!. . . Amaka! Should I start running after you now? What is wrong with you? Amaka!”

“I think you need a lot of patience at this stage. . .” Jide whispered into my ear.

“I sure do babe!”

1 thought on “Memoirs of A Repentant Hooker – Episode 20”

Leave a Reply

