Book Review: ‘Lost and Found; Finding Hope in the Detours of Life’ by Sarah Jakes

Hello beautiful readers! Happy new week to y’all. . . So last year, I was resolute on not taking with me into the new year the act of inconsistency and procrastination and yes, I still stand by it and I am very sorry that I went off the grid last week considering that this post was supposed to have been published last week Tuesday but so many things wouldn’t allow it like lack of BIS and most importantly, my laptop became faulty and I’m really not a good fan of typing on Android WPS Office or any app as such. . . it’s no fun and I kinda just find it sloppy; typing on a computer keyboard is a much more different experience than phone keypads!

Anyways, this particular post ended up being typed on the phone nonetheless and it took me on and off to finish it cos it was no fun like I’ve said!. . .  Even though I didn’t post more than once last week, I come this week with loads of juicy posts for y’all. . . I discovered amazingly ridiculous things and good music too last week that can’t escape my pen! So you might wanna be refreshing this blog everyday cos I would be posting everyday! That’s a promise I don’t intend to break anytime soon notwithstanding that I don’t have a laptop for now!

Today, I’m gonna be reviewing an amazing book by Sarah Jakes Robert titled “Lost and Found: Finding Hope in the Detours of Life.”

I won’t forget to say that this book should have been reviewed since last year and also, I heard about this book for the first time from a good friend of mine, Yemisi who mentioned Sarah Jakes to me, shared some of her stories with me and talked about the book too and ever since she mentioned it, I have been looking forward to the book and then my thirst for the book became worse when I started listening to her messages; downloads upon downloads and I’d say she’s an amazing woman of God that has blessed, shaped and mentored my life or let me say a specific and integral part of my life beyond reasonable doubt. . . God through her ministrations helped me through a particular stage of life and I say that I am in awe of God in her life, I am proud to be blessed by her ministry and her book is a treasure! And also, I am looking forward to meeting her one of these days and I know it’d happen! *seek and ye shall find! Ask and it shall be granted *winks*

image

So, a little about the Gorgeous Sarah Jakes Roberts! *she’s drip-drop gorgeous with a beautiful mind *hehehehe*

She is one of the two daughters of Bishop T. D. Jakes *I Love That Man*. She is 26, an Author of three books presently, She is a Minister *yes!*, Motivational Speaker, TV Personality, Ministry Director and Senior Editor. She was a single mother of two, Malachi, 12 and McKenzie, 5. She got pregnant at the age of 13 and gave birth to her first child (a son) at the age of 14 and then she got married at the age of 19, had a daughter and then divorced at the age of 23 *that’s quite a lot right?* it was!. She is married now to the Set man of one of the fastest growing Church in Los Angeles, One Church LA (I watch them every Sunday *more reason why my BIS doesn’t last), Pastor Toure Roberts in November 2014 and they are expecting their first child together!

image

Sarah through her story and processes has blessed and helped millions and I am glad to be part of those millions.

And lest I forget, she published this book before her marriage to Pastor Toure, so it was published under her name without the Roberts.

image

BOOK REVIEW
“Lost and Found: Finding Hope in the Detours of Life.” was published in April, 2014 and it has a total of 236 pages including the cover page. The Foreword of the book was written by her father and man of God, Bishop T. D. Jakes. His foreword gave an insight into what the birth of Sarah Jakes was like to getting lost and being finally found.

image

I got this book in August; read it twice and every read was new each time! Sarah shared her story from growing up with her sister, Cora and how much they weren’t that separated by so much age gap between them; the close bond shared and the mischief they were always up to as a kid. . . she went on to share her struggle with finding herself, not being able to sing unlike her sister Cora who functioned in the choir; getting lost in the pew and the pressure that came with being a preacher’s kid and being different. . . She also went on to share what it was like getting pregnant before her birthday, her family’s reaction, the struggles afterwards and the support she got from her family. . . the church’s reaction, schooling, meeting her first husband Robert Henson, failing at school, quitting school, getting a job at a strip club, returning home, getting married to Henson having ignored the warning signs, the emotional abuse, getting pregnant and having their daughter, the cheating, and the last nerve tapped-dance on that got her to move on despite staying stuck for so long. . . loosing weight, starting her blog, and then the ultimate decision to surrender it all to God, learning to love herself again and then this book!

image

I saw myself on every pages of this book that I couldn’t help but thank God for this amazing woman. I saw so many things differently after reading this book. I made a conscious effort to try where need be and I realized and held on to the fact that Grace has been on my shoulders too all along. . . where I saw shame, I started seeing purpose and it was a leap for me and that’s the power of this book!

image

In this Book, Sarah tells her story with all sincerity, holding nothing back with the sole aim of blessing and helping others and not ridiculing anyone or painting them bad . . . Her sincerity was refreshing and it taught me to outgrow whatever shame there is and embrace purpose! She said, people don’t want perfect but they want real.

image

In short, this book is about her life and the lessons learnt for the benefit of others.

My Favourite Words/Quotes from the book
I love every sentence/lines of the book; from the beginning to the end! But I’d share these ones with you to give you an idea of how blessed you’d be when you pick up this book!

“For the tears I cried and the ones I held on the inside. For the truth I wanted to erase and lies I thought I had to tell.
Then there are the two hearts that grew inside of me that protected me from dangers I’ll never know.
The insecurities I thought I could never love and the past I tried to escape. Because I believe all things, even our missteps, work together for the good of those who love Him.
I gave Him my pain.
I gave Him my shame.
And He gave me the grace to heal.” . . . from her Dedication.

image

“Carrying a façade is always more difficult than embracing the truth!”

“Until we forgive ourselves, we will always see ourselves through the shattered pieces of the dreams we can no longer have. Nothing can be seen clearly through broken pieces: no future, no hope, no faith, no love is capable of being seen properly until we admit that we are driving on a flat tire. We have to stop believing that just because we are damaged we are irreparably broken. ” I love this quote so much. . . we have to stop believing that just because we are damaged we are irreparably broken! *powerful*

“Anything that breaks the structure of our hope must be repaired before daring to be whole again. Otherwise, we risk becoming susceptible to people’s opinions, requiring their permission and acknowledgement to live and dream our own lives.”

“Fear has got to be one of the greatest emotions humans experience. We depend on its strength to teach unforgettable lessons. We hope that the fear of getting burned will be enough to keep us from touching fire.”

“. . . To this day, when I look back on the beginning stages of heartbreak with Robert and how early in our courtship it was, I have to soul search to discover how I gave up on my dream of love so quickly. If I’m honest with myself, it was my insecurity. Part of me had quietly grieved that another could never fully accept my situation. Robert was the first guy who, when I told him about my son, didn’t let it affect how he felt about me, and a part of me swooned. I didn’t think anyone could easily accept that I had a child so early on in my life. . .”

“When I first began the journey of healing from my heartbreak, a part of me was bitter. I felt like the women he used to hurt me when on to live happy lives while I suffered picking up the pieces. Since then, I’ve learned the “other woman” never gets away. No matter how well things look on the outside, until you confront your wrongs, you cannot create rights. . .”

“If you had told me the girl who got pregnant at thirteen and felt like the black sheep child of America’s favorite preacher would now be a twenty-five-year old single mom, divorcee, author, motivational speaker, TV Personality, Ministry Director and Senior Editor, I never would have believed you. But knowing it’s true, that I’m all these things and so much more now, I’d say the only way to get your bearings and find yourself is to trust that you were never really lost. Amid all your twists and turns, perhaps you simply haven’t discovered the right direction yet. God loves the lost. . .”

image

DISLIKES
I have none! Absolutely none. . . yea, the book was that fabulous!

RECOMMENDATION
This book is one of my most treasured books. It was the same experience I had with Joyce Meyer’s Beauty for Ashes while I was and had finished reading this book! The difference was that it was stronger and intense! Sarah Jakes is a gift to the world and I recommend this book to every young woman, every parent and specifically for every woman that has experienced ugliness of any sort, made mistakes, lost and trying to find herself/themselves, in an abusive relationship/experiencing emotional abuse, feeling low about their person, figuring your worth or trying to figure out the grace in your grass, feeling ashamed etc. and most especially to the woman who had struggled with defining who she is! This book was written for you!

image

WHERE I PURCHASED
Having looked tirelessly for this book almost everywhere to no avail including checking with Laterna books, I ended up getting the EBook for approximately $10 on CBD

OTHER BOOKS BY THE AUTHOR
Dear Mary: Lessons from the Mother of Jesus (2015)
Colliding with Destiny: Finding Hope in the Legacy of Ruth (2014). . . all available on CBD

GIVEAWAY
So, this book is so good that I still want the hard copy! Hard copy does it for me anytime cos I love to highlight my books and then I like to add them to my library of great collections. . . Yes, I’d be doing a giveaway of this book two times! I’m expecting a friend of mine to get me some copies from outside Nigeria, if she does, I intend to give one out but till then, I have a $10 gift card definitely for the EBook version for anyone who is interested! Just one person! No criteria. . . so far you are feminine and you really do want it and would read it! Leave a comment and I’d respond!

GENRE
This book is an autobiography/memoir. . . and this isn’t just any type of autobiography or a literary autobiography, in Bishop T. D. Jakes’ words but refined,  this is a perspective of a little girl whose childhood was nearly stolen by grown woman experiences but today, she has become a tool fit for the Master’s use. . . And you also could be that!

RATING
I’d give this a 10/10 over and over again!

I hope this review blessed you!. . . Till I come your way again tomorrow, stay graced, blessed and purposeful.

Xoxo!

Sometimes, you find yourself when you get lost. ~ SJR (my favourite quote from the book!)

15 thoughts on “Book Review: ‘Lost and Found; Finding Hope in the Detours of Life’ by Sarah Jakes

  1. If no female responds to this, then I deserve it. I want it also, but I am male. Reading you review, I don’t think it’s about the female child alone. I think it’s about every lost youth who is trying to find their way. Your review seem like a reflection of me; burnt, lost, addicted to pain, yet holding on to faith… Gift or not, I am convinced to get this book, something tells me it’s the light out of my tunnel. Thanks ibunkun.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would really ♡ to read this book!! I too have experienced grown up problems at an early age. I also work with young who could possibly use some insight and motivation from Mrs. Jakes testimony!!
      Be Blessed!!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Femi Fragile,Wow! You’re so right! It’s for every youth; both men and women can read this amazing gift to generations and I do not doubt the efficacy of this book to be the needed light for you! . . . I pray God uses the book as a compass guiding you through all of your processes and helping you with your struggles. . . kindly read the new post for more info

      Like

  2. I have always longed to read the book but honestly I can’t afford,I would really appreciate if you would let me have the pleasure of reading it.thank you.I am a female

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would really love this book!
    I am a female and I love Sarah Jakes Roberts She is a bold believer and such an inspiration to our generation. God bless all of her and hers!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dear ibukun. Im the first female to reply!!! I qualify! Yaaaay!😉 well i love sarah. I think all young ladies should follow her. I also think your review was apt and impeccable. Im looking forward to the freebie! Thank you, and have a greay day.❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is all the push I need to FINALLY write my review on this book. I read it three times in one week.
    Her story z so different from mine but the quality of her thoughts nd the way she expresses herself just gets me.
    M so doing a review mehn!!!
    Thanks for this push hun
    Your review was beautiful
    Btw, you just earned yourself a stalker plus i’d like to read your story one of this days
    P.s i’m sending you a mail asap

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awwwnnn Dee! I’m sure you will get to read my story one of these days😉. . . SJR is a blessing to this generation and yea, she’s got powerful thoughts and expressions and yea, I don’t mind your stalking self😛. . .can’t wait to read your review and I’m still expecting your mail. . . by the way, I got your IG follow! Accept ASAP.

      Like

Leave a Reply

