He is my Son!

image

Image credit: Pinterest

For so long I’ve watched them
call him out like a bastard
in a stranger’s land.

I watched them compare
him to the monster whose
manhood helped birth him.

He is my son
and nothing like his father.
His manhood is a blessing
and not a curse like his father’s.

He is the heaving of my breast,
The pleasure of my moaning,
The sweat in my labour,
The life in the blood. . .

He is my son;
call him out no more!
He is the smile on the sun
and not the dent on the soil.

He is the son of the soil
and not the soil on our soil.
He is my son,
The pride of my womanhood.

“There is no greater heaven than the loving heart of a loving mother“. ~ Bangambiki Habyarimana

– ©Ebukun Gbemisola Ogunyemi

6 thoughts on “He is my Son!

Leave a Reply

