Memoirs of A Repentant Hooker – Episode 21

Happy New Month guys! May February be one to remember for good and great things IJN! But wait o shey na 28/29 days this one get so????. . . E be like say na 29! hehehehehe! All the 29th born in the house, make some noise cos na 28 una dey always celebrate am but leap year don come again, una no fit borrow 28 again. . . what will happen if na every four four years una dey add plus one *just kidding*. . . Anyways here comes Episode 21.

*********

Amaka was unsually silent throughout the ride home. She sat at the back of the car staring into oblivion as we passed through every street. I wish I knew what to do with her. Was I really hard on her with the Doctor thing? She’s become suddenly withdrawn ever since the incident happened and I don’t know how to pass through the walls she has built around herself overnight.

“Una welcome o! Aunty Amaka, how body?” Mama Seun in all her lousy glory couldn’t wait for Amaka to rest a little bit before making a charade of the moment.

“. . . We have missed you, you know! The whole compound has missed you! Hope say your body don dey together well well now?” she continued non-stop.

“Mama Seun, haba now! Shebi you know say person just dey come back from hospital, you for relax make she rest small. . .” Mama Titi cuts in.
Birds of the same feather; who better pass! Amaka merely answered them with a wave of hand as she struggled to unlock the door.

“Ehn! We go come back for evening na. . . and Okon sef sends his greetings say make you better quick quick oh!”

“Alright na. Thank you. I will.”

Amaka walked in leaving me with dem Mama Seun and Mama Titi to deal with.

“Omo ilu mi, na you I greet pass o! It’s a very demanding job you are doing taking care of your friend. I envy such friendship.” She said.

I couldn’t stop laughing. It was as if I knew she would pause to talk to me but that wasn’t what got me all rolling in my belly. It wasn’t even the mannequin looking Mama Titi who stood with arms akimbo and no words to say.

“Why you dey laugh na?” Mama Seun asked

“Don’t mind me ehn! I was just happy how much you have improved na. Na you dey talk demanding and envy, I’m very impressed. Eliza has been doing such a great job indeed.”

“Is that it? Ah! Wait till I bring you more from my vocabulary, you will worship the power in Eliza’s tongue.”

“Ehn ehn!” I said pretending I was astonished.

“Yes o! That reminds me, something happen to Eliza over the week o! Hmm like say I never hear am before. . .”

“What happened to Eliza?”

“Errrm! Mama Titi, talk na, wetin you talk say happen to the girl?”

“You don start again o! Wetin me talk say happen to the girl? Na wetin you go talk when everybody full compound be that say na Mama Titi tell you say something do Eliza o! I no dey o ehn ehn!”

“Abeg both of una e don do, if una no get anything to talk, I have things to do o. My boyfriend is waiting and I have Amaka to attend to.”

“Ehn ehn! So you don admit say that Uncle na your bf now? See as you dey blush! I thank God for you.”

“Mama Seun, abeg no kill me, I don deny am for your front before? Just go straight to the point. What’s up with Eliza?”

“Hmmmm, that one na come back tori o! I’d suggest you should go attend to your boyfriend, when we come in the evening, we go gist proper.”

“Okay na. E be like say that one go better. . . Thanks for coming.”

“You are welcome. Take care of Sisi Amaka o!”

“I will.”

“Our husband good afternoon o!” she said bending her body to greet Jide. I swear, Jide was managing to hold the laughter but not for long.
He busted into rolls of laughter after they left.

“I’m sorry for keeping you waiting. Those women ehn, you just can’t help it. You should probably get going now.” I said to him.

“Hello! I could have left since na. All I needed to say was excuse me women, can I speak to my girlfriend for two minutes and then I’d tell you bye and I’d go. So, don’t rush my presence.” He replied me in a joking manner.

“Fine! So what’s up now?”

“Well, I have some few errands to run for myself and then, I need to see my sister afterwards, she sent for me.”

“Okay, that reminds me though. Could you just stylishly ask your sister about her meeting with Mrs. Coker.”

“Why?”

“It’s just that. . .”

“It’s just that what?”

“Okay. I have been planning to ask you some questions about you and your relationship with your dad but I don’t want to rush you until you are ready.”
“Okay and how does that have anything to do with Mrs. Coker?”

“Do you know that Mrs. Coker is Amaka’s Mum?”

“Really?” he asked with so much surprise written all over him.

“Yes. I thought you knew all these while and you just didn’t want to mention it.”

“Babe! Haba now. How would I and not mention it or maybe you’re right cos if I did know, I would have assumed you knew cos you guys have been together all these while.”

“I’m just worried so much is going on and the crazy part is she is never one to hide something from me and now I’m starting to feel like I never really know who she is.”

“Stop saying that! See, all I know is Chief Coker is a wife beater and the four of them, I mean, my mum, my dad, Mrs. Coker and Chief Coker go all the way back from the University days but I never knew they had a child. In fact, I always thought they were childless and maybe that’s why he maltreats her like that plus my mum never really talked about her and my dad. . . to now imagine that the child is Amaka is such a revelation.”

“You don’t wanna talk about your dad again. . .”

“I don’t!”

“Fine! But my patience is running out.”

“Durrrh!” he said smiling.

“I’m not joking o!”

“Plenty durrrh!”

“You are not taking this thing serious. . . You want to wait till I break up with you because of that.”

“I dare you!”

“Fine.”

I was getting pissed and I just couldn’t hide it.

“Look at me. . .” he said holding my face with his hands.

“. . . It’s not going to get to that point; just be patient. I have to hurry now.”

“Alright.”

“And lest I forget, you have to be patient with Amaka if you ever intend to get anything out of her!”

“Alright, I’d try!”

“Do more than try. I’d call you later in the evening. . . I love you.”

“I love you too!”

3 thoughts on “Memoirs of A Repentant Hooker – Episode 21

  1. Finally!
    This episode was lit! I learned a new expression “lousy glory!” I’d definitely be using it in life and in my writing. Methinks you had a very sharp mouth as a child too!
    Well done Ibukun and please update this series more frequently.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awwwww thanks. . . ‘lousy glory’ to imagine I’m just thinking about how those two words came together to form one right now. . . I’m so humbled Adaeze. . . Hehehehehehe! And to think I’ve Never really give it a thought, now that you’ve mentioned it, ama go ask my Mama o what sort I was as a child but m sure you’d be right!. . . thanks so much dear and I’d do more than try not to slack with this series! Gracias! *plenty xoxo*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

