Memoirs of A Repentant Hooker – Episode 23

Getting out of bed was surprisingly a difficult task to do. . . The sun’s A-Game was strong like she wasn’t gonna allow anyone rain on her parade. Lying next to Amaka, I watched the rays romanced her face as she beamed with a smile with the dimples on fleek. Amaka wasn’t really the type to frustrate someone but I was glad she asked to sleep next to me yesterday only because her room was still untidy though. We didn’t say a word to each other after she simply asked if she could share my bed; but her keeping to herself is really getting on my nerves.

The happy rays however reminded me of how much I haven’t kept to a routine in weeks. I can’t even remember the last time I cooked not to talk of the last time I ate a properly made meal since the Jones! I should probably get back to my old life I thought as I smiled at Amaka who was probably sleeping or not even though the eyes looked shut.

“Stop smiling at me. Are you gay?” Amaka whispered as she faced the wall.

“As if I knew you were not sleeping at all.” I said trying to tease her.

“Abeg make I hear word. If you are looking for someone to smile at, you better go do that with Jide.” She said.

“Whatever!” I replied smiling.

It was a great relief to finally see Amaka trying to be herself again after so many weeks of shutting out.

“I’m so hungry right now you know!” she said.

“Same here but I don’t think I have any skills left cos I can’t remember the last time I entered the kitchen. The kitchen is probably the cleanest place in the house right now and I guess I have lack of cooking to thank for that.”

“Jesus! Hope Jide hasn’t proposed yet cos you can’t continue like this to your husband’s house o! Na me dem go dey yab.”

“For your mind. You no even better at all.”

“At least I make the best coffee. . .”

“You should marry a coffee man then or a coffee addict.” I fired at her.

“My business o!. . . I should get up already.” Amaka replied.

“Why the hurry? You should still be resting.”

“I did enough of that at the hospital” she replied rising up from the bed and looking for her toothbrush.

“Hmmm. . .”

“Bia! What is smelling?” Amaka said, drawing me back with my cloth.

“The mentioning of the hospital just got me thinking a little about. . .” I stopped.

“About what na?” She said looking at me like she was gonna bulldozed me.

“Never mind!”

“You for don talk na. . . Abeg commot road, I wan pass.”

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Amaka isn’t one that takes drugs. I remember our first year together as flat mates, Amaka was very ill and she didn’t tell me what the illness was but after she came home having spent eight weeks in the hospital, I was sweeping drugs from under the couch and then I realized Amaka only pretended to take those drugs.

We ended up having white rice and stew for breakfast. I was expecting Amaka to say something mean and hilarious about the meal but she wouldn’t bulge; instead, she kept on wiping her mouth with tissue and was smiling.

“Say your mind, olodo!” I teased.

“No comment.”

“Well, I’d take it as the food was sumptuous and awesomely delicious.” I replied.

“You said!”

“Abeg, no give me that Jesus type of answer. Out of touch doesn’t really mean out of practice! Durrrh!”

Amaka cleared the table. I made sure I wasn’t the one to so she won’t have to tell me when I return to the living room that she has taken the drug.

“So will you take the drug now?” I asked.

“Do you know that Okon came to visit me at the hospital. . .” she said.

“Really?” I said feigning surprise.

“That wasn’t the gist o! He came bearing flowers. Not just ordinary flowers, he brought Roses!”

“Amaka, cut the crap. You and I both know you are not a fan of flowers. So, stop talking about it with your hands in the air like you are in love with Okon and not with that Doctor turned whatever.” I replied not even giving a damn about whatever that statement might do to her.

“I’d take no offence. But he actually came bearing flowers and no, I don’t love flowers but he brought it and I don’t want to make him feel less like a man. You know?”

“I know. . . When are you going to take the drugs?”

“Jesus! Shey one cannot even distract you ni small. . . It is well o.”

“Amaka, take the drugs. It’s not like it’s going to bite off your vocal cords na; it’s just to make you heal properly.”

“I don’t like drugs; they touch my tongue and it’s bitter.” She said.

“You should have thought of that before getting yourself hospitalized in the first place.”

I already said it before realizing it was not only bad but terrible.

“Getting myself hospitalized. Was it like I walked in there and told them to hospitalize me?” she said with her an angry voice.

“I’m sorry. I shouldn’t have said so.”

“Yea right! You shouldn’t have.”

She walked away angrily.

“Amaka come back here o and come and take those drugs!”

“Contrary to what you think, I love myself and I don’t need you to supervise me to take my drugs.” She voiced out from the inside.

“Why do I feel like you are trying to get angry on purpose just to throw dem drugs away! Amaka it’s for your own good o!”

I ran after her but she jammed the door against me.

“Amaka! Amaka! Will you open this door!”

“Go away!”

“Be doing like all those spoilt American kids there! Come out now o!”

“Fine! Stay there then.”

I wish I could take back what I said. We were already progressing and then I spoilt it with just a statement. This my spoilt mouth will not kill me. I was about to say ‘Amaka, I am sorry’ again when my phone rang. It wasn’t a call. It was a text. I was hoping it’d be Jide or Aunty Kayinsola. Then another entered again while I was still trying to pick up my phone from under the table.

Please, we need to talk. I am very sorry for the way I treated you the other time. When will you be free? Please reply ASAP – Sade Jones.

Wow! I was surprised. I guess I am actually making progress with the Jones. She was like the last person I was expecting to hear from.
Then I opened the next message which is from another unknown number. . . I actually read it out. “You are required to report at the Janet and Associates Law Firm tomorrow morning by 10.00a.m. in request of your CV sent over. Thank you!”

I couldn’t contain my excitement and the first person I wanted to share it so bad with was Amaka! She encouraged me to send my CV to the firm the same time she was applying for a contract which I don’t think has been approved yet and now she’s shutting me out again. So I decided to send her a text.

“I got a text from the firm. I think I got the job. Please stop shutting me out.”

I hit sent and her phone made the usual noise from inside.

One thought on “Memoirs of A Repentant Hooker – Episode 23

Leave a Reply

