Let's talk about it/Keeping It 💯

Hashtags

image
Pic Credit – Google

Let’s talk about hashtags!!!

Hash tags are quite really interesting thing as far as I am concerned. Especially when you are familiar with Instagram and Twitter, you’d realize hashtags on those social medias are like ube to boiled corn or coconut and boiled corn but that’s not to say Facebook is exempted from the clique of hashtag users. 

Of a truth, I’ve never for once hit google up to ask what hashtags are but it’s a very plain thing to get so far you are educated and social media literate that hashtags have a way of bringing different users together to relate with a particular post, topic, issue and much more so that’s what happens when people you don’t even know likes your post; your hashtags simply gave you away.

Another thing is it’s more like an archive – like a library of hashtags where you can find thousands and thousands of ending posts on a segment of hashtags like #wce #wcw stuffs like that. If you click on it, you’d see posts under the same tag and the funny thing is at times before you even finish typing the tag, instagram etc. gives you a possible hint of what you might want to type that’s because there have been archives.

The point is not that I’m trying to educate y’all about what hashtag is or is not; personally I feel no one really needs that but I think apart from the fact that we try to be creative at times with hashtags especially as Nigerians, we tend to misuse it and pass bad vibes and wrong vibes with it and often times we all can be guilty of this. . . Simply my opinion.

Now this is what I mean, yesterday I was about posting something on my facebook page and then after I was done with the main text, I added something like #myopinion #youdonthavetobuyit. . . and yes, I removed it on a second thought.

Someone might want to ask why or someone might wanna think what’s wrong with that. I think one of the rules that makes a healthier society is the fact that as much as God has given us the ability to learn under His feet and grow and thereby taking roots downwards and bearing fruits upwards through change that is evident in our lives, it’s not allowed to force one’s mindset and opinion on others. So, this is what I think, at times our words have a way of emitting beefs, create drama or unnecessary fuss. . . “You don’t have to buy it” sounded to me like I was trying to throw someone off balance like I was hoping/assumed someone was gonna not like it and then I’m trying to protect my space/writing with I know some of y’all gonna have reservation about it that’s why I’m saying it y’all don’t have to buy it kind of attitude.

I know this might sound trivial to someone but I think when we are writing or doing anything, we should try as much as possible to keep an open mind and check our intentions as to why we are writing or we wrote that stuff. It’s an ancient thing that as much as some people will keep an open mind to read something that’s good, some people will have nothing but beef towards it! So we are not helping matters if we now put some ‘useless’ tags at the end just saying!

PS: Hashtags or Hashtag is one word!!!

A hashtag is a type of label or metadata tag used on social network and microblogging services which makes it easier for users to find messages with a specific theme or content. Users create and use hashtags by placing the hash character (or number sign) in front of a word or unspaced phrase, either in the main text of a message or at the end. ~ Wikipedia

© 2016 Ebukun Gbemisola Ogunyemi

6 thoughts on “Hashtags”

  1. How did I miss this? It’s an interesting read.
    Your illustration about your Facebook post gave me food for thought. While I don’t attach those kind of hashtags #myopinion or warnings in my writing, I didn’t see anything wrong with it. You’ve given me a different perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

