Memoirs of A Repentant Hooker ~ Episode 24

Waking up earlier than normal is one of the new things I’d probably have to get used to. The idea that I might be a proper working class person is beginning to sink in. Amaka and I didn’t have the best of the night judging by the way we both bid each other good night but like they say, it’s a new morning; a new day to start afresh.

Amaka already woke up. Hair tied in buns; ass and body clothed in Denim and her feet some gladiators. She looked beautiful and refreshed. I was gonna go ahead to say good morning but she beat me to it.

“It’s a good morning I must say.” I replied.

“What’s your problem sef? Must you always bring the attitude from the previous to the present?” Amaka said hissing.

“Wow! Relax. I was just kidding and moreover one can’t help it judging by the way you’ve been reacting these days. So, I’m not sorry; I’m just gonna go ahead and do my thing if you are too sensitive right now.”

“You know what? I’m just gonna ignore cos I’m trying my best to make things go back to normal and I see you are probably interested in seeing the nakedness of the previous.”

“Whatever. . . So you cooked!”

“And you are surprised or worried that I cooked?” She fired back.

“I’m just saying it’s been a while and this one that you are all dressed up, what’s the occasion?” I asked sitting my ass at the dining table trying to peep through the covered food bowls.

“Come to think of it; when did you become all talkative? Why can’t you just enjoy the moment and stop asking all of these questions?” Amaka said sounding very pissed off.

“Fine. . . What did you cook?” I asked opening up the bowls.

“Exactly what’s in there!” she said throwing the towel into my face.

There was silence for some minutes except for the hitting and clapping of forks and knives.

“Congratulations on your appointment” Amaka said breaking the unwarranted silence.

“Well, it’s not an appointment yet but I’m hopeful; so, thanks!” I replied as I continued eating.

My phone rang. It was a message;

Hey boo; I’m on my way. Hope you are already dressed up? And how is you and Amaka? See ya soon.

I’m all set and I’m making a headway with Amaka. I hope it stays that way. See ya soon too.” I replied Jide.

“That’s Jide abi?” Amaka said.

“Yeah. He says hi.”

“Say hello to him too. Anyways I have to run, do you mind clearing the table?”

“No problem, I’m cool with it. But where are you running to?”

“Well, I got the contract and work starts today.” Amaka said without even looking into my face.

“And why are you suddenly avoiding eye contact because you think I might say something that would hurt you again?” I fired at her.

“Maybe. . . I’m sorry. I wanted to tell you yesterday morning but you spoilt everything. I was gonna tell you afterwards anyway!”

“You was gonna tell me?” I said looking into her face.

“I’m sorry. . .”

“Okay. . . Can you at least wait? Jide would soon be here. He’s gonna drop me off at the firm and he can drop you off too.”

“Okay! And I’m truly sorry.”

“It’s fine. . .”

There was a knock on the door.
“You should probably go check the door while I clear the table. It should be Jide.”
“Alright.” Amaka replied.

“Hey, look at you! Looking lots better.” Jide said referring to Amaka.

“I guess. . . Good to see you again.”Amaka replied.

“Come in now!”

Amaka led Jide into the living room proper.

“Hmmmm looks like someone cooked! Hope it’s delicious sha?” Jide said looking at Amaka.

“For your mind now you think I did the cooking so you can lambast me! Well, to your utter dismay and disappointment, Amaka is the madam cook; so is the food delicious, I’d say not bad!” I said mocking Jide.

“Not bad?” Amaka asked with laughter.

“Yes, 5 over 10!”

“Ha! You no well!” Amaka said running after me.

“So Amaka cooked; impressive!” Jide muttered

“And what does that supposed to mean o Jide? Don’t let me come for you like I’m coming for your wife.” Amaka said.

“Well, it’s interesting na ni, that you cooked I mean; you cooked real food.” Jide said smiling and trying to walk to the door.

“I reserve my comment. . . Shall we go now?” Amaka asked.

“Well, I’m ready, I just need to apply some lipstick.” I muttered.

“Ready indeed! Jide said.

“Na you sabi.”

“Is Amaka going too?” Jide asked.

“Yes o! Babes got the contract and work starts today.”

“Really? You people should take me out na on a celebration level as per working class women.”

“We’d think about it!” I said.

“Abeg make we dey go o. It’s fifteen minutes past 9 already.” Amaka said literally drawing me with my trouser.

“It’s just fifteen past na.” I muttered with my lipstick in between my lips.

“You can always take a cab.” Amaka muttered.

“For your mind o! Oya make we dey go; fully ready.”

“You are such a piece of work!”

“I concur.” Jide responded.

“Una two no well.”

© 2016. Ebukun Gbemisola Ogunyemi

5 thoughts on “Memoirs of A Repentant Hooker ~ Episode 24

Leave a Reply

