Let's talk about it/Keeping It πŸ’―

Being A Single Girl in Naija

image

Apart from the fact that I’ve been paying my dues a lot to Cocacola bottling company lately and the abs is still on fleek 😁😁😁 perks that comes with being crazily skinny:):):). . . especially when the coke is madly chilled; Mama’s thermocool freezer is madden. . . but I’m gonna stop paying the dues, sugar is not my favourite and I don’t want my tummy to become kwashiorkored. . . slim body big tummy; and the redeeming powers of the sun; it’s not easy being a single girl in Naija o!

Seriously ehn, the weekend is not my favourite part of the week, weird right? I know. It just reminds me that the week is over, I have exceeded deadlines and that there’s a lot of work to do. . . Although, it has a way of giving me great vibes and inspirations. . . and I have my playlist to the rescue whenever it’s beginning to feel like boredom. . . there are days when I wish the radio has a remote control you know not to change the radio station but the music. . . the music can suck at times. . .

So last week, I did a lot of unfollowing some gossip blogs on Instagram actually I follow just two cos I realise that it has a way of rubbing off on you, bringing unnecessary ridicules and unhealthy arguments from internet trolls cos seriously a lot of these blogs publish more gossips and lampoons than news and then I feel maybe if you don’t see, you won’t have to comment let alone entertain an attention-seeking internet troll. . . that was by the way.

So I was talking about being a single girl in naija . . . truthfully ehn, the encouragement to want more than being single is low. I saw a lady’s comment on a particular post of a celebrity I am following on IG and she was like this marriage thing sef, is it even compulsory and yea someone responded saying it is if it makes you happy and yes, it is necessary cos culture demands it and it is not if you don’t want it. Now, here is the thing, as a single naija girl, I’ve had quite a lot of struggles with marriage or not and truthfully, it has nothing to do with celebrity marriage turn ups and wind ups but the thing is our century has seen more marriage failures than they have seen successful ones and there is this quote from Igba nbajo (a Yoruba film) where the therapist said another person’s experience doesn’t have to be your own reality which is true but it is easy to develop a mindset based on the experiences of others you look up to or should be looked up to. . . Marriage is one thing that tends to scare one before it even happens especially in this age of social media where we start and end the quarrel.

At a point, I said to myself that I wasn’t gonna do all these social media lovey-dovey when I’m unofficially single because of experience personal and impersonal but then I realised that the media is not the problem. . . media affection is not wrong. . . see ehn, if it is right, if he’s yours, if she’s yours, your media life would never go wrong. . . there would be nothing to be scared of. I’m not saying overdoing it, I’m saying social media show of affection is alright and it won’t go wrong if he’s God’s best for you!

And tonight, I realised and I understood, innately and deeply the reason why people wanna burst on social media. . . I’ve had moments when I wanna burst so bad and especially when you are a celebrity, it’s even more harder and I tell you this verily verily that it takes Grace to overlook, keep mute and ignore when people are saying untrue things about you, your situation, leaving despicable comments on your pictures, accusing and abusing you and passing wrong insinuations, you’d wanna talk, you’d wanna explain. . . it’s a lot to take in and it’s a lot to ignore but we are being made unto perfection daily.

It’s easy for people to say delete this post after having a good read and tagging gossip blogs. . . as in it’s real on IG. . . like I’ve said, emotions are powerful and beautiful but God hasn’t placed it above us but us above it!

Don’t make another’s experience your reality and contrary to the clichΓ© being passed around, two people can actually have the same experience but maybe not the same way but definitely not the same reaction

I love y’all. . . stay with me. . . keep refreshing and I hope someone was blessed. . . ;);)πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ

Have a fab new week!!! Keep slaying, keep popping and believing in God. . . I love you and don’t forget to drop comments; they inspire and bless me!

MwahπŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹

Β© 2016. Ebukun Gbemisola Ogunyemi

. . . because my Father in heaven has revealed this to you. You did not learn this from any human being. . . (Matthew 16:17. . . NLT)

4 thoughts on “Being A Single Girl in Naija”

  1. I’m seriously beefing all you crazily skinny people, if I look at a bottle of coke… I gain weight instantly!
    I love the points you raised about being a single girl here, it isn’t beans and social media amplifies things. Keep being true to yourself, keep doing you and keep holding God tight! Nothing does you πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahahaha I can imagine. . . Our individuality is a blessing only if we can find comfort in it. . . and you’re damn right about the social media thingy; the struggle is real😯😯. . . Thank you so much Adaeze 😘😘😘😘😘

      Liked by 1 person

  2. We thank God for loving parents, really.
    Because the second I got out of school many people started winking and asking questions. Honestly, you’ve got to decide exactly what you want. As my cousin told me; “the beautiful thing about this life is that you do not have to do anything you don’t want to”.
    Don’t stress. Everything good will come.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

