Half Day at Camp: 27th April, 2016

image

Female Hostel 2 - Kebbi camp. . . pic credit: Google

After a long and crazily stressful journey of 30 hours exactly, we arrived the Dakingari Camp in Kebbi State at exactly 7pm since 11am Tuesday morning. . . did I forget to mention that after the driver turned to the road leading to the Dakingari camp, it took us like an extra 50 to 60 minutes to get to the camp. . . like where is the camp sef! The journey no dey end? Kebbi is a far place – like it’s the longest journey I ever made in my life not to talk of at a stretch. . . thank God I’m not one whose feet gets easily swollen. A lot of other otondos in the bus were a victim of that. . . the journey was no fun at the beginning but it got better along the way. . . It was my first time travelling Cross Country and trust me, I don’t have the best of experience; I probably might not be travelling with them anytime in the future. . . it was a story of sour, bitter and salty but I thank God even with the purging and the emergency visitor, I survived that journey. . . in a later post, I’d be sharing the journey to camp/my experience with cross country.

So, we got to camp and all these small boys Fulani/Hausa Ive never been one to really differentiate them durrrrhhhh. They offered to carry luggage and trust me, I wanted to prove I can carry it myself cos I was trying to save cost o cos I was so tired that I won’t even mind to be carried. . . how much would they charge sef? Na so I carry my bag give one aboki boy o. Did I forget to say I was super pressed for a second time?. . . the first time we were in Sokoto around the desert area and the Pilot at least that’s what cross country calls its drivers *funny to me sha; all na packaging*. So I asked driver if he was gonna stop anytime soon, he said no! Trust me, I no fit hold that shit any longer it was a different kind of shit cos it wasn’t just shit alone. So I asked him to pull over, I jump down ehn like I was being pursued, I saw some men and boys building mud house, I was asking them where I could ease myself; no English that was a deadpool. . . I waka go front, then those ones showed me a toilet in a mosque, I con do am for there, commot. . . I enter bus, took some drugs, tell driver say make e no vex and if e vex, make e tell him management to have a toilet in their coaster for such a long journey.

So, soldier screened my bag and call up letter, I waka reach gate collect one small number for small paper wey be like tally. Need I say Dakingari camp is beautiful; like the best I’ve seen after Ogun Camp if not better. Wunmi already gave me gist but it was just as she said. So I moved forward to write my name, get a room number, pick a bed.

I gave the aboki 50 naira. Sharpaly carried one bucket go fetch water even though I had to queue who cares if the shit wan dey drop like bazooka, it was useless trying to beg so I was praying for strength to still keep it together.

Finally, I made for toilet, almost all the toilet were messed up like wetin happen na – clean but messed up. I run go buy what looked like a potty, I Sha do am, brush my teeth since yesterday, had a good bath. . . Yetunde already said registration can wait till tomorrow so waiting it is. I headed for Mammy Market, bucket 300 naira, small plate 150, rubber sneakers 900 that was all I needed to buy Sha without choice. My bag was small, no time for nonsense.

I fetched water, made a few calls although my phone never rest since the journey started. I didn’t want to eat cos I didn’t trust my tummy but I had to Sha. The food na die . . . 300 for a plate wey be like shibi je size. The food  no come make sense, God punish camp o! I no chop am finish o!

Spiritual mama Chioma gave me bread to chop say e go help my tummy. . . we travelled together and she’s so amazing. She was there when my sth first started for bus.

I had to go back to Mammy to get Lucozade boost #250 and the normal table water for #100. Very cold though nonetheless all na extortion.

The sockets in our room weren’t working Sha. Plus the Porter showed us a shotput ground. She dey even tell us how to package am well. Lmho!

This camp promises to be fun! Sleep oh sleep after I talked for hours on fone. . . looking forward to avoiding parade tomorrow cos I never register na 😁😁😁😁 and I’d register in the morning. . . I hope I find my cloth and shoe sizes. I can’t wait to see the million shades of makeup in the morning.

Oh! And I got the upper bunk. Just two fans in the room and I’m kinda closer to one. I also remembered to tattoo my name on my stuffs, and yes, thank you Wunmi, Airtel is the bomb 👌💋💋💋. . . thank you Funso for putting me through the data stuff and allowing me to blow your phone not as much as I blew Yetunde’s sha!

Byer! I hope the hustle to charge no go hard sha. . . and hey Nectar, yes you, I hope I didn’t bail? 😛;). . . we go soon snap when we don wear uniform.

#withlovefromKebbi. . . 7% battery.

Β© 2016. Ebukun Gbemisola Ogunyemi.

8 thoughts on “Half Day at Camp: 27th April, 2016

  1. I laughed hard from the beginning to the endπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ This reminded me of my NYSC days 2012. That journey to Zamfara was like the end of the world journey! I can clearly relate to all this.

    Please enjoy camp but don’t dare eat those food shared in camp..,just buy your food or enjoy taking some cereals…so you don’t purge all through the three weeks.

    And I’m so interested in that Journey to the Camp! Please share quickly😜😜 Thanks for not bailing on us!πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

