Home and Away!!!!!

image

Yipeee! Guess who’s back? Me!!!!!!!

It’s a month and some  weeks since I took a self-administered sabbatical leave from the blog but really all things work together for the good of those that trust Him. . . A lot of factors were against me, I had to address and map out strategies on some of my abandoned projects and God was also putting a lot of things to try on my mind and yeap, ama begin to show them when I’m done clearing the needful.

So, I remember starting my camp story from camp but I couldn’t continue because first my morale dampened when I finished typing on my phone overnight and then I tried posting and I couldn’t find the content anywhere. It was painful cos I’m someone who types from my head and edit on later and each time I tried picking it up afterwards, I end up sagged in morale so I decided to do it after camp. . . so in lieu of the stream II starting on Monday, I’d start posting where I stopped. . . camp story is never stale or late. . .better still, you guys should just imagine I’m still in camp.

image

L – R ~ Sola, Me and Dedoyin

I got my posting letter and I discovered I was posted to the capital, Birnin Kebbi to teach at a private school. I was excited not for the capital or the ppa (place of primary assignment), I was just glad and yes, camp was over too. The drive from Dakingari (our camp site) was another 2 hours or more to the capital. There was nothing spectacular cos I had my hopes up only to have it crushed. . . it was nothing close to Abeokuta or Ibadan or Akure; not just a typical capital.

I came with RCCF and we arrived at the corpers lodge which was cool. We had jollof rice to eat, provided by the house and we were divided into rooms. Guys stay one wing and ladies another. I think it was a total of six rooms in one wing and in my own room, we were like 5 and the room was very small. So while I was staying, the host in my room kinda stepped on my phone, broke the screen only to put it all back like nothing happened. I tried using my phone and I was almost tearful at what I saw no kidding. I confronted her and she was like I didn’t see it, I didn’t break it only to admit later. I was going the next morning back home with another unplanned financial responsibility at my lap. . . so, my blogging was truncated.

I left Birnin Kebbi with the mindset of not staying at the family house not because of what happened but because of the rules which includes, no separate cooking oh boy, I like to cook for myself, bake, make and try recipes. You pay 5k monthly for feeding. No private business. No use of gadgets what’s gonna happen to my oven and toaster that I planned bringing. No visitors allowed. No trousers. . . OK wait! I am just passing the stage of eating well and I can be choosy when it comes to food so I pay 5k every month that covers only breakfast and dinner and no lunch and what if I don’t eat as frequent from the general cooking??? And there was a time in my life when I allowed people’s opinion about trousers to rub off on me and I feel like it’s a bad thing like I’m a rebel, condemned and I haven’t allowed Jesus to die for that aspect of me. . . people talk about covering of your head etc. But I got knowledge and I wasn’t gonna allow someone to make me feel like that again. . . so, I had no money and accommodation is like money in the belly of a fish in Birnin Kebbi but nonetheless I left my stuffs at one of our friends house (from OBS, Muyiwa – he’s batch B) trusting God to sort us out as he scouts for house for me and Doyin (Doyin is my newly-made friend from OBS too but we went to Ife together even the same faculty but it’s funny how we never met until camp).

We both reported at our ppa and we were accepted. She was given History Bureau; trust me, that office looked like it was abandoned for years when we went to check it out and my school was cool except I do not know how my workload was gonna be.

We went shopping a day to travelling for some fishes, kilishi etc only to be welcomed by the craziest sandstorm I ever seen. That was the second after camp’s. Everywhere practically turned dark in the afternoon. I have the video on my Instagram page. You can check it out.

After scouting for house unsuccessfully, we left the rest to Muyiwa. Doyin and I were both going to Abeokuta and we were both also from Abeokuta life can be funny right. So, four of us plus Ibukun who stays in Ife and Sola who studied Anthropology and Sociology from OAU too but stays in Lagos occupied the first seat of the Sienna car while three male corp members going to Ilorin/Ibadan occupied the back seat and one immigration man was sitting in front.

image

We left Birnin Kebbi past 7 and we arrived Ibadan 7.32pm passing the terrible Jebba bridge made with wood.

©2016 Ibukunwrites

You may believe there’s nothing wrong with what you are doing, but keep it between yourself and God. Blessed are those who don’t feel guilty for doing something they have decided is right. . . Romans 14:22

4 thoughts on “Home and Away!!!!!

Leave a Reply

