The Kebbi Life

image

Pictures taken on the way

Returning to Kebbi wasn’t a child’s play. I was supposed to travel on the 30th of May but somehow I travelled on Tuesday, 31st May. It wasn’t easy getting to the Ojo Motorpark, Ibadan with the biggest ghana must go bag, a keg of palm oil palm oil in kebbi isn’t so much fun we were told and a small travelling bag.

We left the park at exactly 10am. It was a bus fully loaded with 95% corp members returning to serve. I met some of my friends and familiar faces from camp. Our driver liked detours a lot cos he made several stopovers on our way personal o! To imagine he wasn’t gonna stop for a small girl that wanted to weewee in the bus with tears all over face with the notion that pee is contagious and everyone will start catching the pee rhema. The father of the girl was Hausa and he was raining curses in Hausa. After a lot of begging, he stopped.

The journey continued with my headset keeping me serious company only for our driver to stop at Oyo to see a woman that everyone jokingly called his wife. After we’ve passed Ogbomoso, entering Kwara, he stopped to buy mangoes and then again to change break pads and he also stopped again to buy fish. . . people
joked that it was for his third wife cos the mangoes were for the second wife. Lol.

image

And when we reached Mokwa, he stopped to eat and almost everyone seized the opportunity to do same. I didn’t though cos I don’t trust my tummy with road foods and I wouldn’t want a repetition of what happened when I was going to camp.

After that, there were quite no stopovers cos he already filled yellow kegs with petrol only when we entered Kebbi, a little bit after Yauri, in the middle of the night. Some Hausa guys were chasing us with machete. The driver said he has noticed them chasing us. He started racing very fast only to pull a stop at the next SARS checkpoint stopping the guys too who were on bike and he was shouting thieves in Hausa. Our driver is a Yoruba man but he speaks Hausa well.

The guys said the driver wanted to hit them and the officers were like it’s no justification to pull a machete on us. The officers sat the guys down and the officers were like they know the guys if not, it would have been serious than that (the way they would have been handled) like the guys are MTN Guards. So we were like they must not release them until we were far gone and this was around 2am in the morning. . . thank God nothing happened.

image

We arrived Zuru at exactly 3:45am in the morning. That was where the buses were stopping don’t know why though but Zuru is a Local Government in Kebbi State. From there, I boarded a car plus five others 5 others going to Birnin Kebbi. . . 2 at the front, four at the back. . . thank God I was slim, I wouldn’t have been able to cope.

I arrived Muyiwa’s house at exactly 4.30am in the morning. . . he and doyin have been using calls to monitor me since the journey started. Doyin who arrived a day before me and Muyiwa came out to help me with my loads.

Mehn! I can’t believe I was planning to resume ppa the next day over efficient Corper. . . but I didn’t though cos after having a warm bath and brushing my teeth, I slept off only to wake up in the afternoon with excruciating body aches.

Trust me, Kebbi State is not a place you vex come and vex go! *winks*

©2016 Ibukunwrites

11 thoughts on “The Kebbi Life

  1. I give you kudos!

    Road trip is not a favorite pastime for me. Thank God you arrived safely…

    Explore and Enjoy Kebbi well and keep us updated with pictures plssss cos I am sure I won’t have any reason to see that part of my country 😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

