Kebbi Diaries

Welcome to Overflow!

Okay, hold up! This heading actually made me chuckle a little bit but I kinda liked it!

I think the raining season is approaching here in Kebbi! It has been raining for quite a while. I mean this should probably be the 5th to 6th time and trust me, this ain’t no small rains. . . and whenever it’s about to rain, a sandstorm always come handy!. You can’t afford to spread your clothes outside or else it’s a gunner!

Like twice, I’ve had to wake up in the middle of the night, unlock the mini gate to pack my clothes inside say 2am, 3am etc. cos the sandstorm is always heavy and you’d just feel it!

So on Tuesday just like it used to, the sandstorm started heavily say around 3am till 5am! Thank God I didn’t spread no clothes outside! Then it started raining from 5am till past 9am that I could walk out to the saloon where I want to make my hair.

By the time I stepped out, these were the outcomes of the rain! Broken roofs, roofs blown away including overflows!!!!

That’s why, here in Kebbi, they unpack their gutters, make deep gutters so water won’t flow into their houses!

Below are the pictures from the Tuesday rain that made me realise how serious rain is in this part of Nigeria!!!

I’d definitely be bringing more stories from BK for y’all šŸ˜˜šŸ˜˜šŸ˜˜šŸ˜˜

image
Badariya Area, Birnin Kebbi

image

image

image

image

Ā©2016. Ibukunwrites.

6 thoughts on “Welcome to Overflow!”

Leave a Reply

