The Slam Book

Teaser: Episode 25 ~ Memoirs of A Repentant Hooker

Keep your dreams alive. Understand to achieve anything requires faith and belief in yourself, vision, hardwork, determination, and dedication. Remember all things are possible for those who believe. ~ Gail Devers.

Heya guys! Happy New Month already! December is here! And I’m celebrating my Sagittarius babies already. . . This is a huge thanks to everybody that waited on my series like it’s some miracle😁😁. . . A very huge thanks to my amazing friend from Twitter who almost, no, did got angry at a point, I understand! And also Ada, Nectar, I can go on and on. . . thanks guys!!! It has been months and moments of adjustments and rediscovery for me! Thanks for waiting, I am fully back this time and I hope the remnants of this series is worth the wait! Merry Christmas and A Happy New Year in Advance😘😘😘😘💖💖💖💖

Now to the series

* * * * * * * * * *

Mending fences with Amaka was something I was determined to restore like it used to be but not with force. I was going to make it one step at a time as Jide advised. My day at the Legal Firm had gone well. Not only did I got the job, I had an official car to go with it and a very handsome pay. Who gets an official car in a legal firm in Naija these days? Amaka wasn’t picking up but I had sent her text stating how it all went at my side and trying to find out how it went on her side too.

I was so happy to start practicing after so many years of being called to bar. Yes, I had managed at a little firm immediately after Law School but it didn’t last long because I had encouraged myself to walk away from it cos it was more depressing than it was helping. Jide’s call had kept on coming in but I was in a meeting and I just couldn’t afford to pick. I learnt it was a retired Chief Judge who also happened to be a great business tycoon that owns the law firm. The Senior Lawyer there said the man really cared about representation and outlook, the more reason why getting the job came with a car package that wasn’t really a giveaway but more like a package that comes with 5% deduction from the salary for 6 months. I didn’t care so much about it ‘cos I was so glad to practice.

Hey, I’ve been calling you. What’s up. Just wanted to find out how it went. Let me know when you’re free so I could pick you up.

It was Jide.

More like I’m gonna drive to your place immediately I’m free. 

I replied him.

Jide never tarried when it comes to replying texts. It was like I had never seen a man so deepened in chats like him.

What do you mean? He replied the text.

I mean, I now have a car baby. I replied.

Wow! I better watch out, bae is a big girl.

I smiled reading his response. I didn’t know why it was such an amusing thing to me. Maybe it’s because we are finally in a good place and for once, I felt like my life was falling into place, just like I had imagined some years ago. 

“We resume 8.00a.m. tomorrow. Congratulations once again Barrister!” Barrister Adams said as he shook my hands.

“I will definitely not be late!” I smiled through my words.

“Alright! Get out of here and celebrate. You are one lucky lady! See you tomorrow.”

“You too Sir.” I replied as I smiled through the door, took a little glimpse at my office, shut my eyes for a while as I heaved a sigh of relief that emits happiness.

I haven’t heard from Amaka. I was hoping at least she could reply my message and let me know how it went but like I said, no pushing, just trying. Just when I was trying to shake the thoughts of her off my mind and decide who to call next, her call came in.

“Hey!” She said from the other end of the line.

“Babes. What’s up na? How did it go?” I asked.

“Well. . .”

“Well what?” I couldn’t go through with the suspense even though I was glad she was turning up a little bit of the real Amaka with me.

“We’ve come to an agreement and I start project fully tomorrow.”

“Wow! That’s good news cos I have a good news for you too!”

“Okay, go on. . .”

“I got the job, not only the job, but with a mind-blowing Saloon car.” I said, not being able to concede my excitement.

“Yayyyy! So, you gonna be rocking the wheels now!”

“Absolutely babe! We’re gonna be rocking the wheels.”

“So, are you available for a turn-up?” I asked.

“Hmmm. . . not so sure about now. I’m working on the project breakdowns ‘cos I need to get them ready before tomorrow. There’s no time to stalk or waste.” She said.

“I understand.” I replied. 

I was a little bit sad. I wish she had said yes, maybe we would have a little time to talk about it all over again.

“Maybe during the weekend.” She said.

“Absolutely!. . . See you at home!” I replied. 

“You too!” The call ended.

I was glad that at least she made the effort to suggest a particular day of the week. It kinda meant she was opening up little by little to me. I was excited for the opportunity to be who I had went through all of those things to be at last and also for the change that was gonna come with it. I should probably get to Jide, after all, it was all done and everything was ready. Except for the golden voice of Charlie Puth’s See You Again that broke through my phone again. This time, it was Sade.

“Hey! Good afternoon. . . It’s Sade” She said.

“Yea. I’m aware. Good afternoon ma’am.”

She chuckled.

“I was wondering, are you free? I would love for us to talk like I had earlier said.”

“Yea. About that, I’m sorry I didn’t keep in touch.”

“It’s fine.” She said.

“How about now?” I asked.

“That’s fine with me. Where do you think would be easier for you to meet?”

“Anywhere you pick is fine by me.”

“Okay!”
* * * * * * * * * * * * * 

Walking into my favourite ice cream joint with my car properly parked at the parking lot was more than a little excitement for me. It was like my confidence was raised to power infinitum. Still, a part of me was worried about what the conversation could be about. It was an open truth that Sade has never been my fan at the beginning. She had taken every opportunity to flaunt it in my face. Even though, I was surprised the first time she demanded this meeting nonetheless, a part of me still held on to the Sade I’ve always known. I wasn’t lost so much in this thought when I saw someone waving at me from afar. She was seated at an angle closer to where Jide and I used to sit whenever we came around. She sat at the other side across the stone-made table with two bowls of ice cream. I sat in front of her trying to tell myself it was gonna be fine in my mind.

“Hi.” I said sitting down.

“Hello.” She replied calmly.

“My brother said you like the chocolate flavour.” She said passing me the ice cream.

I chuckled.

“He told you that?” I smiled again.

“Yeah. He did. He didn’t mean to but it kinda popped out of his mind, I doubt if he knew I heard.” She laughed.

“Thanks.” I said digging the ice cream already.

She laughed and then I looked up to see what’s up.

“What?” I looked at her stylishly pausing my hand movement on the ice cream.

“You really did like this thing.” She smiled.

“I’m sorry!” 

“It’s fine jare. Don’t mind me. I just find it amusing.”

I smiled back at her.

“I am sorry for the way I’ve reacted to you in the past. That’s not really me. I just care about my brother. I really do care about him and I don’t know how to hide my feelings and pretend like it’s not an issue when it’s really an issue for me.” 

She said with so much passion that I could even read the sincerity in her voice.

“I understand.” I said.

“I just wanted to be sure he’s doing the right thing. Amidst all those dramas, I just feel if you were in my shoes, you’d do the same.”

“I understand perfectly, even beyond that which you haven’t said.”

I moved close to her. Sat by her, held her hands and hugged her. 

“I know you’ve had your doubts when it comes to me and I know you probably still do, but I want you to know, I love him and your dad was never a bone of contention. If only I could turn back the hands of time on most things I’ve done but was never proud of, I would but I can’t. And the truth is, I love Jide. He loves me. I’m just glad we’re finally here.”

“Me too.” She said.
* * * * * * * 

“Hey! So you didn’t call. You didn’t want me to see your little saloon?” Jide’s voice echoed.

“Gerrarahia jor! It wasn’t like that. I had a date.”

“A date?”

“Yea. . . with your sister.”

“So how was it?”

“I guess it’s a start. It was good.”

“You see, that’s the spirit! You can’t just shut yourself out of trying by assuming it would end bad.”

“Maybe you’re right this time.” I teased him.

“I’m always right.”

“So are you still up for it tonight?” He said teasing me.

“No! A girl’s gotta go to work in the morning.”

“Alright then. Sweet dreams.”

“You too babe.” I replied.

“I love you!”

“That’s a first!” 

“Shut up there! Kisses.” He said, ending the call.

I got down from my car into the welcoming hands of Mama Seun. She was obviously not in one of her best moods tonight. Seeing her made me remember her conversation about Eliza and her father the last time we talked. I really need to do something about it. Maybe when Amaka arrives. I greeted her and she answered calmly.

“Hope all is well Mama Seun?”

“Very well omo ilu mi. I just dey examine life.”

“That one sef dey!”

“Good night.” I said.

“Good night.”

I walked right past her to the doorstep, opened my bag to find my bunch of keys only for my leg to touch something. I pointed the torch from my phone towards my leg to discover an envelope slotted beneath the door. I picked it, opened the door, dropped my bag, off my shoes and on the light.

The envelope was addressed to no one. I tore it, opened it and there it was, the unexpected.

1 thought on “Teaser: Episode 25 ~ Memoirs of A Repentant Hooker”

Leave a Reply

